ROAS (Return on Ad Spend)

Written By Audrey Banks ()

Updated at July 8th, 2025

Overview:

ROAS is a performance metric that shows how much revenue is generated for every dollar spent on advertising. To calculate ROAS, we take the revenue from campaign types with ad spend and divide it by the amount spent on those campaign types.

For Attributed ROAS, we only include the revenue that has been attributed to our tracked engagement leads. Currently, this metric applies only to call-based revenue, and it’s dependent on two key data points:

Campaign types that have ad spend tracked

Revenue that has been attributed back to those campaign types, which requires that the client is using our tracking and forwarding calls to ST numbers

It’s important to note that we may or may not be managing these campaign types directly—ROAS is calculated as long as we’re tracking the ad spend and receiving the related revenue data.

The team is actively working to improve and expand this metric to include all revenue that should be credited to marketing, such as forms, chats, and schedulers.

Formula:

ROAS = Revenue from Marketing Campaign / Ad Spend of Marketing Campaign

 

Examples:

If you made $10,000 in sales from a campaign type that cost $1,000, your ROAS is 10. That means for every $1 spent, you earned $10 back.